Most of the district’s water is delivered to municipal customers who serve 90 percent of the county’s population. Municipal customers include St. George, Washington, Hurricane, Ivins, Santa Clara, La Verkin, Toquerville and Leeds.

Each of these cities has signed the Regional Water Supply Agreement (RWSA), which promotes collaboration and conservation.

Through the RWSA, the district and partnering municipalities coordinate action with respect to the planning, development, acquisition, construction, operation, management and maintenance of water and related facilities necessary for the continued growth and development of Washington County.

As part of the agreement, the district is authorized to construct and operate its water system to meet anticipated municipal demand as determined by elected officials and the community. This involves developing new water supplies and working in partnership with the state.

Cities are required to maintain their existing water infrastructure systems in addition to implementing the following water conservation practices:

  • Have a water conservation plan
  • Implement water conservation rate structures
  • Enforce time of day water use ordinances
  • Collect district impact fees that increase based on irrigated area, encouraging new development to minimize outdoor water use
  • Establish landscape ordinances
  • Promote secondary irrigation systems
  • Participate in planning to ensure maximum use of reuse water
  • Use secondary water on all municipal facilities for which such use is feasible

In addition to the RWSA, the district has a Water Supply Agreement with the town of Virgin that allows the municipality to purchase water from the district when needed.